Introduce yourself! Tell us a bit about yourself, where you're from, and what you do.

Hi! I'm Ariana Nathani, 25, born and raised in NYC. By day I work as a digital experience designer, but by night I run Drinks First- a NYC dating podcast and event series that allows people to meet and connect in a new way.

What inspired your dating podcast, Drinks First?

I've lived in NYC for almost all my life, so my community is here. Two years ago I realized I was having the same conversation with a lot of my friends who were smart, ambitious, attractive, funny, etc. and it always went something like:

"Why is dating so hard in NYC?"

"I'm tired of dating apps" 

"Why am I getting ghosted?"

So, I thought I had a better, more actionable way to connect people through a podcast. Now I interview anonymous singles and my listeners can match with them!

At Love Wellness and on The Love Club, we're all about community. Describe the Drinks First community. 

Hot, (duh) cool, interesting, diverse, intellectual, ambitious. The people who I have met through the podcast and my events have all been amazing. Drinks First has really tapped into what it is like to be a young, single person in NYC just looking to make connections. We are open to all races, genders, sexuality, etc. I love the community Drinks First has started to create and can't wait to keep growing it!

What is your pre-date routine or ritual? Is there anything you recommend others try doing to get themselves ready to meet someone new?

I will usually listen to Doja Cat while doing my make-up, maybe FaceTime a friend about the outfit, but I don't do anything too specific. There is something I don't recommend...don't get drunk before a date! I know some people get nervous, and alcohol can calm nerves, but when you go on a first date you want to represent your authentic self! You are trying to figure out if you like that person, not trying to make them like you.